It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 5:34 pm

Bought Darkspore at Walmart...can't register.. kind of angry

Having problems with your purchased key or registering an account?

Bought Darkspore at Walmart...can't register.. kind of angry

Postby Shagtime » Sat Apr 30, 2011 9:00 pm

Hello,

I bought Darkspore at Walmart tonight April 30th and installed it off the disc. I went to play it and clicked the Darkspore icon now in my start menu...it says:

"Darkspore is not available for play. Please try again during a scheduled playtest."

Huh? What is that supposed to mean?

Then there's a brief switch to a patching screen and then Windows 7 states:

"Darkspore has stopped working."

Then I read in the leaflet inside my game case that I'm supposed to register Darkspore at EA.com. In accord with that I logged into EA and added the game. Even though I was able to add Darkspore to my EA game list, I was not able to add it or register a key.

I bought this game for my son. He's a huge Starcraft and Spore fan so I figured this would be a great game for him. Now, he's going to wake up with no Darkspore to play.

This sucks and I think that if I buy a product like Darkspore via hardcopy at a store it should not be a problem to get up and running.

I am kind of angry to be honest and I would like some technical explanation from Maxis on this.
Shagtime
Necrotic Spawn
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2011 8:53 pm

Re: Bought Darkspore at Walmart...can't register.. kind of a

Postby firepkmn » Sat Apr 30, 2011 9:31 pm

You can see this thread, this might help you.

viewtopic.php?f=13&t=4827
Image
Image
Xbox Live Gamertag: GhastlyShatzy
Add me on Facebook here!
Me and my friend's YouTube channel TehAwesomePpl
My Steam ID: GhastlyShatzy/Shatter
User avatar
firepkmn
Cyber Sentry
 
Posts: 272
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:44 am
Location: Nimbasa City, Unova

Re: Bought Darkspore at Walmart...can't register.. kind of a

Postby firepkmn » Sat Apr 30, 2011 9:32 pm

Oh, and one more thing.

You can enter your key in-game after you login to your account. :)
Image
Image
Xbox Live Gamertag: GhastlyShatzy
Add me on Facebook here!
Me and my friend's YouTube channel TehAwesomePpl
My Steam ID: GhastlyShatzy/Shatter
User avatar
firepkmn
Cyber Sentry
 
Posts: 272
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:44 am
Location: Nimbasa City, Unova

Re: Bought Darkspore at Walmart...can't register.. kind of a

Postby bladesta69 » Mon May 02, 2011 2:18 am

im having the same problem. i bought my game from a different store calld jb-hi-fi. i have added darkspore to my game list but i cant find how to register it. i dont know how to get my retail key, am i getting it sent to me as when i added darkspore to my game list or???
bladesta69
Necrotic Spawn
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 1:42 am

Re: Bought Darkspore at Walmart...can't register.. kind of a

Postby firepkmn » Mon May 02, 2011 4:20 am

You buy a key from EA or on Steam, if it didn't include a key.
Image
Image
Xbox Live Gamertag: GhastlyShatzy
Add me on Facebook here!
Me and my friend's YouTube channel TehAwesomePpl
My Steam ID: GhastlyShatzy/Shatter
User avatar
firepkmn
Cyber Sentry
 
Posts: 272
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:44 am
Location: Nimbasa City, Unova

Re: Bought Darkspore at Walmart...can't register.. kind of a

Postby dotghost82 » Mon May 02, 2011 7:58 am

Bladesta, you need to contact jb-hi-fi and find out how to get your key.
MaxisKiwiboat wrote:The inability to copy and paste the key also drives me banana sandwich.
User avatar
dotghost82
Moderator
 
Posts: 1734
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: Virginia

Re: Bought Darkspore at Walmart...can't register.. kind of a

Postby 840403 » Mon May 02, 2011 7:29 pm

Bladesta you should have got it in the box with the game. I bought my copy from jb hifi too, however my problem is like the OPs it just crashes straight after the patcher comes up with no message other than Darkspore has stopped working. Happens everytime even after numerous reinstalls. Cant even apply downloaded patches since it just crashes. Im hoping jb will refund me.
840403
Necrotic Spawn
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 3:16 am

Re: Bought Darkspore at Walmart...can't register.. kind of a

Postby bladesta69 » Tue May 03, 2011 12:55 am

yeh my game is working fine i can login its just after i login i need a retail key and i guesse i need to buy one of ea yeah????
bladesta69
Necrotic Spawn
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 1:42 am

Re: Bought Darkspore at Walmart...can't register.. kind of a

Postby firepkmn » Tue May 03, 2011 6:47 am

The copy you bought at should have a key in it.
Image
Image
Xbox Live Gamertag: GhastlyShatzy
Add me on Facebook here!
Me and my friend's YouTube channel TehAwesomePpl
My Steam ID: GhastlyShatzy/Shatter
User avatar
firepkmn
Cyber Sentry
 
Posts: 272
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:44 am
Location: Nimbasa City, Unova

Re: Bought Darkspore at Walmart...can't register.. kind of a

Postby rst64tlc » Thu May 05, 2011 9:46 am

bladesta69 wrote:yeh my game is working fine i can login its just after i login i need a retail key and i guesse i need to buy one of ea yeah????


Same problem here, except, I didn't buy mine from wal-mart or anywhere. I played beta and running Windows Vista and after going through many threads on the installing problem, I came on this thread here: [url]viewtopic.php?f=21&t=4809[/url]

After downloading it and installing it, I came upon the problem that the start screen said that 'player who played beta, you can now enter your retail key at login to acess the game' at first i thought it ment you don't need to buy the game, but after upon encountering Blade's problem, I now have to ask, what retail key is the game talking about?
rst64tlc
Necrotic Spawn
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 7:39 am

Re: Bought Darkspore at Walmart...can't register.. kind of a

Postby dotghost82 » Thu May 05, 2011 9:50 am

The Digital Rights key you get from purchasing a retail copy of it. Beta no longer exists. It's simply stating you don't need to reinstall if you're a beta user.
MaxisKiwiboat wrote:The inability to copy and paste the key also drives me banana sandwich.
User avatar
dotghost82
Moderator
 
Posts: 1734
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: Virginia

Re: Bought Darkspore at Walmart...can't register.. kind of a

Postby Kyosanym » Fri May 13, 2011 5:06 pm

I just installed this game today, May 13, the wrong message is still showing in the patching screen. :-\

Game is patching while I type this.

Please fix before more people get confused.
Kyosanym
Necrotic Spawn
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 11:41 pm


Return to Keys/Registration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest